Soundtrack of my life.

So far that is.

First off, you might be surprised by what you’re about to see. Most of those songs have nothing to do with my personal music preferences and yet I still love them. The thing is, I do this every year and in every 5 years or so I pick the most popular songs from my lists. I mean the ones that are in my playlist during all of those 5 years. It’s fun, actually. So…you wanna check it?

My first 12 years are kind of blurry right now…at least in a musical point of view that is. Then I remember that I liked Tokio Hotel for a year or something. I was really fired up! I just tried to find some photos of me back then, but I couldn’t find any, I guess they’ve been deleted. This is a period that I’m not proud or ashamed of, because I was young and just starting to know what the music is all about. But it was a part of my life, so I gotta include 1 Tokio Hotel song in the playlist, right? I choose Übers Ende der Welt because I liked the idea then, I still do now, it’s one of their best songs, it’s in german, which means that it’s authentic aaand the video is cool. I don’t like TH now, but I would never deny that I used to listen to them. That’s just the way I roll.

As we move on, I turned 13 and Brain was still dating Sasho and he showed me his favorite song – 3 Doors Down – Kryptonite. I’m not a huge 3DD fan, but I do love, love, love this song. This is probably by far my favorite song. It oddly reminds me of the time when I used to translate books from English to Bulgarian. That’s when I met Yani and Maria (her I met 6 months earlier). I once made a video with this song, saying how our friendship is tighter than the Jo Bros pants and I got one saying that they love me more than the strawberry ice cream. Seems like it was AGES ago, when I was in 8-th grade, but it’s a fact that we are still VERY good friends and even though we live in different parts of the country, we do love each other and we visit us one another as often as possible. So…if I go crazy, then will you still call me Superman?

I’m moving on with Natasha Bedingfield’s Pocket full of sunshine. This is from the time when I realized that Ivana is special. She wasn’t just the ordinary fashion chalga girl. She was actually fun. For those of you, who don’t know who that girl is…she’s my classmate that I sit on 1 desk with. I remember when during a summer break, while she was in England, she wrote to see how I was doing and it made me feel really good and warm. I wanted her to be my friend, I needed her, if you will. I was in denial, I sometimes still am, but she REALLY is awesome. I know how hard it is for her to say “I love you” to someone and so I was really flattered when we were talking one night on skype and she asked me “Do you love me?” I said “I don’t know. I know that you make me laugh, you are the only one who can make me laugh, when I don’t even want to smile, but I don’t know if I love you.” and she said “I love you. You will probably never hear me say that again, but I do and it would hurt me if you go away right now”. It was sweet, because I knew she meant it. It was the whole world to me back then…We don’t act that sentimental at all, but we know our dirty laundry, so yeah. And the song is here, because it’s one of the few that we both like. Her favorite. So, Iv, this one goes to you 😉

And then there’s a big hole in my memory, but I think there were songs like Duffy’s Warwick Avenue and Timbaland’s The way I are & Apologize. But they’re not good enough for the playlist thingy.  What is worthy, though is Rihanna – Disturbia. I know, I know…I secretly like her. Actually, I adore her. I love everything she makes. I don’t know if it’s because it’s her, but I really like her stuff…including the horny cheap slutty tunes. I don’t know, she’s just an R’n’B expert. And I’m sick of people telling me “You listen to DeathStars and you like Rihanna? WTF is wrong with you?” Hell yes, I like Rihanna and I have all of her albums with the extra songs and the ones that aren’t supposed to be out yet, and the ones that are totally not known…I have it all right here, baby! I also like Lady GaGa, Katy Perry and Beyonce, so shut the fuck up, get a life and then judge my taste! Haha. I get annoyed by people telling me what’s lame and what’s not, so…yeah.

And finally…Sturm und Drang – Alive. I honestly might change my mind in a minute or so. I like all of their songs, so the song is just symbolic. This is from the last summer up until now. It reminds me of Gergana and her stories. It was so fun, swinging on the swings at midnight, drinking beer and talking about various things. And this was every night. Then she got a facebook and it was then when I realized that the SuD guys have facebook profiles and I added them and…OH MY GOD, I will NEVER forget how happy we were when we wrote Calle “hi” and he hi’d back. It was like…I can’t describe it, we screamed at the top of our lungs and then we couldn’t sleep and we listened Misho from Zlatograd playing on his electric guitar. We thought he can’t hear us, but apparently he could and it was so awkward when he told us to keep the volume down, haha. Anyway, a couple of days later we had an encounter with Tage Rönnqvist, who is a photographer and all of SuD’s pictures are pretty much his deed. So he was a big deal, too. Word to word, we talked for a while on one of André’s shots in Gergana’s album and then it was silence. Until he launched his brand new site http://www.tageronnqvist.com . If your name isn’t Tage and you do not know about his works, then go check him out, you’ll like what you’ll see. Anyway, he turned out to be like one of the funniest guys on the planet and so I started reading his blog posts and got familiar with the things he was working on. It’s a whole new world out there, I’m telling you. I’ve been a faithful reader since the very first blog post and I intend to keep it that way, just because he never gets boring. And this is all true, he’s fun! 🙂 So yes, I don’t know what else to say about the past year, except that it has been a lot of things: sad, fun, hilarious, melancholic, busy, boring, smiley and teary. But I wouldn’t trade it for anything, so…

My only regret is that I didn’t get to go to Finland this summer and this still bugs me and it makes me sad, but at least I know that I will go next year for sure! So I have something to look forward to. I wonder what the next song will be?

//Stef – huh Too much “then”‘s for just 1 post? I think, yes.

2 comments

  1. Heeey!

    Thank you so much for the kind words. This post made me really happy! ..and I thank you so much for being my very faithful reader.

    By the way. The best songs in the world through the ages have all been made by CCR, Britney Spears and Iron Maiden. So, now you know!

    Born to make you happy by lady Spears, Afraid to shoot strangers by Maiden and Have you ever seen the rain by CCR are perhaps this planet’s greatest music moments!

    //Tage

  2. I actually happen to like all of these songs.
    We can’t all be “true” and only listen to rock’n’metal. I like my guilty pleasures! Fuck it, they’re not even guilty! Haha.

    I’m glad I made you happy today, feels good 😀

Leave a Reply

