University rocks, yo!

Hey ho! (if you think you’re a whore, that’s your problem πŸ˜€ )

So, yes, it’s been a month. But I have a good excuse. I’ve been super busy with doing stuff like partying and sleeping and working. I swear.

Last time I wrote a blog post, I was at Laura’s apartment in Helsinki, it seems like it was 3 years ago, but nope, it’s been only 30 days. I’ve been a good girl at keeping busy. I always have something to do now and that makes me feel good. Yes. But let me fill you in on the past month, then.

Nora turned 18 on 6-th of August, there was a party at her place in Espoo, it was really good. In the beginning, I was only talking to Joel, cause it was full of 2-nd and 1-st graders that I didn’t know (I feel old), but then our mutual friends arrived and they all started to drink, those bastards. I couldn’t even stay there for a long time, since I had to go back to Helsinki and I had work at 6 am in the morning. I left maybe around 12 am, but it was a nice experience overall and I forgot to take pictures of it, cause I am forgetful. Sorry.

The next day Noora came back from the US. I haven’t seen her in more than a year! It was so amazing. Joel drove me, Jazz and Jamppa to the airport to meet her and Henkka was working there anyway, so he came to say hi, as well. She was so touched, she started to cry, look how happy she looks!

IMG_1126We kidnapped her for the day, we went to eat chinese food in Tapiola, it was awesome! You should have seen us trying to fit into the car. πŸ˜€ It was very close and very personal, to say the least!

But the next day after work, I was headed to Suomenlinna, there was the YFU happening, I got to meet many new exchange students and yes – I did feel old again. Time flies so fast. It was only 2 years ago, when I was in their shoes. But the event was really well organized, I was there with my ex-support person Salla (and still a very close to me person) and her mom Seija. We drank those lemonades the whole time, they fuckin rock!

IMG_1134I don’t even remember the next few days, because I did so many things, but let’s just skip to the part, where I went to the Helsinki design museum with Luca (a hungarian friend) and her polish friend Marta. The museum was super nice, actually, I was really surprised! They had so many modern art exhibits, it was wonderful to watch and see more of Iittala, Fiskars and Arabia (awesome Finnish design brands). Here is something that caught my eye. I have no idea what it is:

IMG_1191IMG_1170

And here’s a really nice picture of some hot air balloons right above the Helsinki center:

IMG_1146I would also like to dedicate a paragraph of this blog post to “Vapiano”, the best pizza and pasta restaurant ever! I don’t know if it was the combination that I ordered, or the person, who cooked it for me in front of my eyes, or what, but this was the best pasta that I have ever eaten. It was so mouthwatering and delicious, I have been having dreams about it. Also, the atmosphere of the place is really italian in a good way, there’s live oregano and basil on each table, I loved the smell, the light, the food, the service, just…everything! If you’re ever passing by the central railway station, I would DEFINITELY recommend that you pass by “Vapiano” and grab a bite there. Look!

IMG_1223

Okay, the next thing that I would like to talk about is Star Wars. This month has definitely been a Star Wars month. Β It’s been on our agenda with Joel, we were supposed to have the whole Β marathon in 1 day, but it was impossible with my work and stuff. So he has been oh-so-nice to stretch the schedule a little bit and for some reason, I ended up going to his place a lot of times this month. He has given me a shit load of car rides, I feel a little guilty, but he’s always the one, who suggests it, so I guess it’s okay. I even drove his car one time, which was a big deal for me. I was sweating and being nervous, I thought we were gonna die, cause I had never driven a gas powered car before (just diesel), but everything went relatively well. The car is alright. πŸ˜€ Then one of the days that I had spent with him, we decided to go to the Helsinki open summer cinema with Johanna! It was really cool. We watched the movie Baraka and I really, really didn’t understand it, cause it was basically a compilation of touching clips, but I liked it. It was different. Here are 2 pictures from there:

IMG_1240

IMG_1259

I’m sorry to both of them for putting THIS picture here, but it was the best one. πŸ˜€ I was playing with my camera, trying to find the perfect program, but it just didn’t work. There you go!

Then there was Friday. One of the Fridays, anyway. I had my first orientation day at Arcada – my university. It was so amazingly awesome, you can’t imagine. I really like the building and the people there, it’s been amazing so far! After the introduction, I went out with Luca, we ate cake and watched some south korean people do their thing in the Helsinki center:

IMG_1277

IMG_1292

Yes, I know cake is not good for you, but it tastes fantabulous, so shut up.

Then as far as I remember, I was at Paola’s place (this bulgarian girl, I’m sure I’ve talked about her in some of my previous posts), I had a few martinis and I slept like a baby. πŸ˜€ The next night was a party night at Joel’s place. Upon my request, my friends got together and had fun, how cool is that? The reason why we were at Joel’s place (again) is because it seems like his place is always free when we need it. πŸ˜€ Jazz, Nelli, Henkka, Jamppa, Noora, Kaisa, me and Joel were present and I think it went well (what I recall). I stayed overnight there and I forgot to take pictures, but you’ll have to excuse that.

Then we had another 2 introduction days at Arcada, it was pretty awesome. Slowly, but surely, I’m starting to meet more and more people. Everything there is so Swedish, though, it’s really weird. It’s mainly a swedish-speaking institution in Finland, I’ve never met so many Swedish-speaking Finns before. But it’s nice, they are really cool! Here are a few pictures of last week, which has been splendid! (everything is Arcada related)

1148750_10200686054373640_1667653847_n554501_10200686058773750_160684880_n1238299_10200686061093808_510939275_n994593_10200686069494018_1860408550_n1234271_10200686070774050_2025504770_nThat’s Fanny! She’s a swedish-speaking Finn, in the same group as me, we really get along very well, I think you’re going to read about her a lot during the next few years. She is so creepy, she likes the same things as me, but it has gone to such extent that I am starting to think that she’s not real or something. We’re like twins, except that we’re not. πŸ˜€

1240452_10200686071414066_1063926168_nAnd that’s Meri. She’s a Finnish-speaking Finn. Also really awesome. She has this thing in her voice, it sounds like she’s been smoking for 20 years (not meaning anything bad), it’s really sexy. πŸ˜€ And she’s super hot and I’m straight, so that should mean something. Guys, she’s single πŸ˜‰

1185070_10200690526845449_1335729036_nIMG_5024

What we’ve been doing basically, is party all the time and get to know new people. I’ve been loving it. Tomorrow starts the real thing, which means that umm…well…we get to study. πŸ˜€ Whoop. If you would like to know more about the best Friday ever, I suggest that you watch this video, which is my attempt at vlogging for a day. I intend on doing more videos like these from time to time, when there are some interesting days. πŸ™‚

And yes…I love cats. I was at Luca’s friend’s place and they’re just so fucking fluffy!

IMG_5016

GET ME ONE ASAP!!!!

And I’ve also moved to Kirkkonummi, so yeah…I’ve been busy. And this would be my final line. I’ll talk to you laterz.

//Stef – bye, people!

Leave a Reply

