Why I stay at Arcada a bit longer every day.

Hey! 

Lately I’ve noticed that I find myself leaving my university always later than the day before. Why? This is a very important question, which certainly has a VERY interesting answer.

People.

I may skip a lecture, I may come in later, I may not pay attention to the lecturer and I might not even do my school work while in Arcada. I might just wonder off with someone, talk about many things with them. I’ve found so many amazing people. I love individuals as they are.

So inspiring. So real. So painfully true. I met the other day a man, who’s afraid to love anything, because it will always eventually die. This is so logical and yet so sad. I am baffled by him. Why? What has happened to him? I stay late in the hope of finding out. It’s not gossip, it’s fascination.

I met a person, who is so excited about microbiology and eco-friendly egineering, that it brings a smile on my face, when I look at him talk about it. I swear I don’t understand a word he says, but his energy is so nice that I could listen to him for hours and not get bored.

I met a person, who is so interested in human behavior that he always tries to analyze me and no matter how boring I may sound, he always finds something to cling on to and make it sound deep and thoughtful. It’s so interesting to talk to him, I never want to leave his company even if we’re talking about cornflakes.

I met a girl, who wants to help others help themselves. So selfless and so friendly. She encourages your ideas and tries to think about how to make them reality. She’s a perfect human being.

I met a girl, who I literally know nothing about, but her smile makes me want to cry, because it’s so sincere and I am falling for it every single time. I think she might be one of the purest things I’ve seen in my life. And she doesn’t even know it.

I met a girl, who is so beautiful that it makes me feel uncomfortable for staring at her all the time. We never talk, she probably thinks I’m crazy. One day I will go and talk to her and I KNOW that she will be a great person. I somehow have a hunch for it.

I met a guy, who is literally so amazing that he kissed me while being sober (that’s important!) and then had the guts to tell me that it won’t work out. I have SO much respect for him and I think he is very interesting and smart and I really, really wish nothing but the best for him. It’s refreshing to see people like that every once in a while.

I met many people, who share the same interest as I do and I met many people, who don’t, but are still interested enough in me, to listen to me ramble on and on about what I want to do and what I think about certain topics. I am grateful.

I also met a girl, who has the most extraordinary mind and I can in no way understand it even if I tried. I just know that I love everything she touches. (as in her works). I have no idea what’s going on in her head, but I just know that her art doesn’t need words. Her name is Linda Fotulova and I have permission to post three of her works here, so here…enjoy them with me:

6869894_orig

4417467_orig

1704705_orig

And now I just feel kind of…inspired you could say. By them. By the people. By the random faces that aren’t so random to me anymore. By their stories, by their dreams, by their aches and by their feelings, which they have been ever so nice to share with me. I love people. And I love listening to them.

I feel like I want to do something with myself. I’m not the only one with something fucked up in me, I’m not the only one who is afraid and I’m not the only one, who dreams big. I salute the people, who stay late and talk to me, I salute their bravery to open up to me (maybe not all, which I’ve mentioned, but there have been plenty, who did it), because I know that it can be very scary to share your deepest fears to someone you just met 2 days ago. And thank you, as well. For showing me that being naive is not something to be ashamed of. And that you’re not a failure just because you’re not as cynical as the rest of the world.

Just so you know, if any of you is reading this, even if you don’t know that it’s about you, if you feel the tiniest bit connected to me, I want you to know that I believe in you and I admire you and I’m inspired by you. And I hope your dreams become reality – if there’s anything I can do, I’d do it selflessly, just because you didn’t ask for it. Just because you only wanted someone to talk to and not someone to gain benefit from. Maybe we won’t see each other that often and maybe we’ll say hi to one another 5 times for the next 3 years, but I still believe in you. And you are still great. 🙂

Now it’s time to get MY life together.

//Stef

Leave a Reply

