Life so far…

Okay, hey peeps!

Sooooooo…..yeah.

I’ve been supermegagiga busy with stuff, which is good, but also very consuming. I’m behind on quite a lot of school work, yet I’m always at school, it’s very weird. All I do is answer e-mails, write proposals, eat food and repeat. BUT. I am happy to say that it’s been very rewarding so far. I don’t know how many of you know what the Rotary start-up challenge is, but I’ve been consumed with it for a while. So I won (together with one other really sweet guy) the opportunity to go to semi-finals, which was REALLY dandy. I was so happy! (still am) The whole thing seems pretty crazy to me, because all we had to do is pitch our business ideas in front of a jury of entrepreneurs and they chose the two best ones to go to finals. And I was one of the best. This is the unbelievable part.

Someone actually thought that my idea has potential, which made me more than happy. I was over the moon for the first 5 minutes, when I found out I’m going to semi-finals. Somehow, knowing that people believe that this could be true is very motivating and sweet. Because Joel has always said that “this is unrealistic” and “impossible” and I talk to him quite a lot and I see where he’s coming from, BUT I also think that I have a completely different mindset in that sense, I think that nothing is impossible if you try hard enough and this small win proved it (at least to me, which is the most important thing). I’m going to pursue this idea of mine and if it doesn’t work, it’s completely okay, but I have to at least try or I will regret it forever. Here’s the most inspirational talk I’ve heard about going crazy and making things happen:

I don’t know, I just really like this. I think it’s the perfect source of inspiration for years and years forward. Also, you don’t just accidentally get good at something, you work for it. Which is what I want to do. I want to be good, I want to be the best. Because it’s what I want to do. So I’m taking extra courses in university. Video editing, graphic design, next year I’m taking 3D studio production, cross-platform production and so on. Completely unrelated to my degree in Business, but you know what, I’m taking the best out of everything, I’m taking advantage of everything presented to me. Double degree? Why not? Why the hell not? I’m this close to buying a kick ass camera and going on a shooting spree. By this close, I mean that it’s going to happen within the next few months and I cannot be more excited about that. So yes.

Somehow I’ve always known that I want to do Film making, but I’ve never had the guts to share it with anyone, so I went for business…but I do want to finish this degree, because that interests me, as well and I can definitely get a good use for it. I quite like marketing, it’s the second best thing for me after film making. I’m glad that in this university I have the opportunity to study both (in a way). I will make my life successful. 🙂

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe weather is still bad and I almost can’t take it. I feel so bad whenever I’m outside, my feet are always wet, I really hate it. It’s warm during the day, so all the snow melts, but it gets cold in the evening again, so it snows once more and it’s a never ending circle of slush, which is the worst possible weather, in my opinion. I feel depressed by it, I can’t wait for spring. Sometimes I hear a bird or two singing and I get so hopeful and it feels so nice, I can almost smell the spring coming. But then another wave of slush hits me and I come back to reality. Oh, please, please weather, PLEASE get better soon! PLEASE!!!!!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetWith that being said, it IS February, so the Wanhat dances happened once again. This picture is from my wanhat (2012). I was so happy on that day. I want everything to happen all over again!!! And I almost can’t believe how fast time flies, I mean, was this REALLY 2 years ago? I remember all the dances and our own dance and everything! It was so cool. When I come to think that I wasn’t sure if I even wanted to dance, I want to give my old self a slap…one of the best experiences of my life, hands down! And I had all of my best friends there, it was such a happy moment. Speaking of best friends, here is a perfect opportunity to state that those same people are still my friends and I love them just as much as I did back then…and I’m happy that for the first time I found friendships, which don’t depend on time and distance. I am a lucky girl to have them. 🙂 Happy Wanhat dances to everyone, who were involved in them this year, I hope you had a blast!

So what’s next for me?

2014-02-17 05.09.59 1I don’t really know, but I am eagerly waiting for the summer and I hope it’s going to be incredible! I’m still contemplating on whether or not I should work during those warm months (I have sent out applications, but lawd knows if anything will come up). I want to go out with as many people, as possible! Soak as much sun as I can, go on walks, have picnics, take more photos, make more videos, eat berries, make strangers happy somehow. I also want to see people, which I haven’t seen in AGES, but I don’t know if that will happen, since I’m not really that close to them, but we’ll see. Also, Linda (a good friend of mine, I’m sure you know her) is leaving Finland in June, since she was here only for 1 year on an exchange and I kinda really like her and I’m going to miss her the whole summer, cause that would be the best time to do stuff together in Helsinki. I’m really sad about that. 😦 But I’ll go visit her in the UK (also a good opportunity to visit my oldest friend, who is being a bad ass architect in Portsmouth at the moment). And I’ve always wanted to visit England, there’s something fascinating about it that I can’t explain. But yeah…that’s happening at some point.

Well, that’s all I have to say for now, I guess.

//Stef – take care, my lovely caterpillars!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

