THE HOLY MEN OF VARANASI. – MESMERIZING PHOTOGRAPHY

Second post of the day, but this is worth it.

I’d like to share a few pictures with you.

Almost every major religion breeds ascetics; wandering monks who have renounced all earthly possessions, dedicating their lives to the pursuit of spiritual liberation.Their reality is dictated only by the mind, not material objects. Even death is not a fearsome concept, but a passing from the world of illusion.

I find these images to be so profoundly simple and yet so detailed. They scream everything the subjects represent and for me, that is what photography is about. The first image is by far my favorite and perhaps the one, which screams the loudest.

This isn’t to say that the rest aren’t strong and powerful in their message.

The wonderful portraits were done by three New York based photographers and cinematographers Cale Glendening, Joey L. and Ryan McCarney, or should I say that the project was done by them, because it involves a really beautiful documentary, as well.

They spent a lot of time getting to know their subjects before taking their portraits, which makes the photography oh so exquisite.

I think this is amazing. The cultural difference is so big that it almost seems like a fairytale to me. At first seeing the documentary (which you will find at the bottom), I was a bit skeptical about those guys’ abilities, considering how young they are, but this is so wonderful, it speaks for itself…

This is so beautiful…to consider that those people live with close to nothing, they don’t fear death and they even embrace it. I am so in awe, I love it.

Also I’m very impressed by the photographer Joey, who captured the culture so well an clearly understood what these people are about. A huge hats off to you! 🙂

And let’s not forget the documentary, which is absolutely mind blowing. Magical colors, great story and insight. Bravo. Rarely do I give compliments on such a high level. As far as I understood, most of this was shot on a Canon 7D, which is the kind of camera I want to buy for myself, and certainly not the best thing on the market, but still very good nonetheless.

Well, I’ll leave you to watch the documentary and you definitely should do it if you have free time, you’ll love it. 🙂

//Stef – have a good one.

Leave a Reply

