Recent music likes.

Yo!

This is like the third time I’m trying to write this post, but something always prevents me from publishing it.

Anyway, today seems to be the day. Lately I’ve been feeling super anti-social. I’m an ambivert in the full sense of the word – I LOVE being with people socializing, partying and networking, but I also LOVE being by myself and these last couple of months, I haven’t been feeling like going out with a lot of people. Every week I’m invited to 15 events, the exchange students are drinking every single night, my friends want to see me and I just…don’t feel like it. Not saying I’ve been locked at home the entire time, but my party attendance has definitely decreased. Don’t worry friends, it’s just a phase, I’ll be back up and running at some point. πŸ™‚

But what have I been doing during the nights, when you have shamelessly drunk away any memory of your personal information or nationality? Well apart from laughing my ass off at your snapchats and whatsapp messages and replying to your “boo, you old grandma” texts, I’ve been enjoying my own company and my hobbies (other than drinking) such as photography, reading books, watching Robin Williams movies and discovering new music. And also reading science journals, cause science is awesome.

However, I wanted to make a blog post full of my recent music obsessions. Cause I’ve had the time to rape the replay button enough times. I should do the same with movies, who would like to see that? But yes, let’s get into it.

Johnny van Zant – Party in the Parking Lot

I don’t listen to Lynyrd Skynyrd MAINLY because I think this is one of the stupidest band names you could come up with, I have troubles pronouncing it and no amount of technical brilliance can make up for it. But in all honesty, I don’t know how great they are cause I haven’t listened to anything more than “Sweet Home Alabama” and “Free Bird”. Cause that name annoys me (might as well be a death metal band together in a line-up with Amon Amarth). But Johnny van Zant is sooooo cool. His album called “Brickyard Road” has been one of my recent obsessions. It’s in no way connected to Lynyrd Skynyrd, but I felt obligated to say something about them, since he’s their new front man. “Party in the Parking Lot” is my favorite song of the album, but believe me when I say – every single song is spot on. Definitely DO recommend.

Damn Yankees – Dirty Dog

I was listening to “High Enough” and I thought “Let’s see what else dem boys have” and stumbled upon this gem. Also “Come Again”. Very cool. Can’t say that I’m surprised, but I like what they’ve done…and again sax + trumpet + guitar + drums proves to be a killer combo.

Europe – Cherokee

In my opinion this is one of Europe’s best songs. And I cannot stand to listen to “The Final Countdown”. You can only hear it so many times, before you start hating it (together with “The Eye of the Tiger”). Cherokee is a fresh reminder to me and hopefully to everyone else that Europe have OTHER songs, as well!!!

Dead or Alive – You spin me Right round

I really like this song. 7 years ago I’d call anyone who listens to it crazy, but now I’m one of those people. And it’s true. You do spin me right round like a record, baby, right round, round round. πŸ˜€

Aerosmith – Pink

Pinkkkkk. I love the harmonica. I love pink. I love Steven Tyler. And Aerosmith. I think I’ve liked this song for aaaages, but lately I’ve listened to it a lot more. And fun fact, when Aerosmith were in Helsinki last year, Steven was just casually walking down Aleksanterinkatu without any security or anything and ON THAT DAY I was supposed to go out with my friends to go shopping on that street, but I got sick the day before and decided to stay home. And my friends met him and took a picture with him. To say that I was jealous would be a huge understatement…when they whatsapped me the pic, I felt like jumping off a cliff. Just…I get mad at myself again just by thinking about it.

Midnight Oil – Blue Sky Mine

Can you hear the redneck harmonica? That lovely, lovely sound. Mmmm. The singer has crazy eyes, tho. πŸ˜€ But the song is amazing, I’ve been really loving it lately. I almost think this is as good as “Beds are Burning”, which is their biggest hit. But what do I know…

Winger – Headed for a Heartbreak

Winger has good songs (both the band and him as an individual) and he looks ridiculously photogenic for some reason. But yeah, I’ve lately been listening to this + “Madalaine” and “Miles Away”, great stuff!

Bryan Adams – Here I Am

I think this was featured in some animation with horses. Frankly, it’s been pushing me to watch more Disney movies, it has that vibe to it don’t you think? “Here I am, this is me…there’s nowhere else on earth I’d rather be…”, very Bryan Adams – like. I enjoy this a lot. πŸ™‚ I’d love to see it live, a friend of mine who has seen him said it’s a great experience. When, oh when???

The Outfield – Your Love

Another GREAT song from the 80’s. I listened to this a lot maybe 4 or 5 years ago, but I stumbled upon it again 2 weeks ago and it’s just so…good. And it has a nice video, as well! Well done. πŸ™‚

Tesla – Forever More

So excited about this song, you have no idea. I fell in love with it the first time I heard it (the album came out in 2008, I think?) and I’ve been listening to it on and off ever since then. Now I have so many memories connected to it, it’s crazy. Being 16 and laying on the warm run-down concrete bench in Varna with a beer next to me, watching the sunset with my back then best friend and thinking that we were “the shit” and no one could tell us otherwise. Ahh, those were the days. πŸ˜€

Murray Head – One Night in Bangkok

The whole winter holiday in a song. There you go. Quan was in Bangkok for 2 weeks and him being there reminded me of this song, so I’ve been crazy about it. And everything Murray Head sings about is apparently completely true! Drag queens in every corner, drugs, gay people, it’s like the new Sodom and Gomorrah, crazy stuff. πŸ˜€ But yeah, the song kicks ass!!

Yeah, that’s it for now I guess. What are your favorites? Or do you even know the songs I posted? πŸ™‚

//Stef – toodaloo.

Leave a Reply

